Politician of the Year – show some imagination

Saturday saw the launch of the Brighton Politics Awards 2009.  Nominations for Politician of the Year have ben a bit disappointing, with Ed Milliband, John Prescott and Nancy Platts being the only nominations to date.  It was Nancy who nominated Ed Milliband, immediately creating a new ategory, that of Brown Noser of the Year.

I had hoped for some interesting local nominations (not that Nancy isn’t interesting!). How about Mary Mears, or Bill Randall, or Alex Phillips, or Caroline Lucas, or Chuck Vere?  Are they too uninspiring?  Is there nobody else locally who deserves a nomination.

To make it easier for you, there will be four sub-categories, one for each of the four main parties (although it will be hard to find someone/anyone intresting/inspiring in the Lib Dems (beyond Stormin’ Norman Baker).  Ideally there will be nominations for a non-Party person.

From each Party sub-category one nominee will emerge for the prestigious and much covetted Politician of the Year award.

So send your nominations in, with a word or two about why they should receive this unique honour!

Nominations can be made on Twitter (@BrightonPolitic) or by emailing brightonpoliticsblogger@googlemail.com

Brighton Politics Awards 2009 – have your say

We are entering the ‘silly season’ for politics, when real politics is put on hold. BPB is no exception so today the Brighton Politics Awards are being launched.  Between now and the new year various category winners will be announced, and you will have the opportunity to nominate the Brighton Politician of the Year. 

Voting would be too democratic, but the winner will be influenced by the quality of nominations.  This prestigious set of awards have no prize other than the admiration that the winner will attract from others!

I would also welcome suggestions for categories.  Already in place are, of course, Politician of the Year, Here Today/Gone Tomorrow award, Biggest Loser of the Year, Blog of the Year, Gaff of the Year, Leader of the Year, and Newcomer of the Year, Campaign Group of the Year, and Young Politician of the Year.

Some awards are obvious, some serious, others more flippant.  What do you think? And who would you nominate?